Installing XP on Dell Inspiron 1464. Stuck looking for drivers?


I have just done installing XP on the Dell Inspiron 1464.  I am sharing my experience.

I have the Dell Inspiron with stock Win7 pre-installed.  I previously had it dual booting with Ubuntu.

I started setup with an XP CD that has SP3 slipstreamed via nlite.  Perform XP setup with SATA mode set to IDE in BIOS.  I have tried, but have not yet successfully gotten AHCI mode to work.

I also managed to slipstream the driver for the WLAN.  Convenient.

Where to find the WLAN driver?

You can google search “54wg04ww”.  The .exe file with this filename is what you need.

This site gives a good lead:

http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/network-internet-wireless/f/3324/t/19276936.aspx

I’ll post all of the files on dropbox as well.

I found that this WLAN driver has to be installed manually via device manager if it is not slipstreamed.  I.e. you right click the unknown Network controller item and select update driver and proceed from there.  After successful install, this item is identified in device manager as “Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter”.

As to the rest of the drivers:

VGA driver – hard to find

The correct one is here:

http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/legacy/Pages/legacy-radeonaiw-xp.aspx

The filename is 12-6-legacy_xp32_dd_ccc_whql.exe

Found it with help from the dell forums.  This driver does not require installation of anything prior to it.  You have the wrong driver if it is telling you that you still need dotnet client or something.

Chipset drivers – SM Bus Controller

Found by using intel driver update utility at:
http://www.intel.com/p/en_US/support/detect

This driver has to be slipstreamed into XP install via nlite.  Else performance of the resulting XP system will be slow – a great puzzle for the minds of some low level engineers for sure.  A friendly guy on the Dell Forums gave me a helpful hint.

Chipset drivers – PCI Simple Communications Device

Found from the supplied Dell Drivers CD – the one that came with the laptop.

R243176.EXE

This driver also has to be slipstreamed into XP install via nlite, else performance of the resulting XP system will be slow.  This issue had me puzzled for a long time but now I believe its solved.

Audio driver

From the CD: R243230.EXE

Card Reader driver

From the CD: R242825.EXE

Network controller – Ethernet driver

This one is easy – let Windows search for it and it will find.

Webcam driver

This one also seems easy.  The driver for the webcam was identified by Windows update so I installed that.  There also seems to be an XP compatible driver in the CD set.

I have a copy of the drivers here:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/vazfnw4oa54gv7b/Qm1TAskaKa

 

Leave a comment

